Federal Extension on Eviction Moratorium Includes Tompkins County

(Jimmy Jordan / WRFI)

(Jimmy Jordan/WRFI)

TOMPKINS COUNTY, NY -- The CDC has issued a new order temporarily halting evictions in counties with a substantial or high level of COVID-19 transmission.

The moratorium order will last until October 3rd and includes Tompkins County, as well as nearby Seneca, Chenango, and Onondaga Counties.

The country wide moratorium would have expired on July 31st, although New York state had extended the moratorium until the end of August.

There are over two dozen counties in the state that are currently applicable for the CDC’s moratorium.